Benin, officially the Republic of Benin (French: République du Bénin), is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, by Nigeria to the east and by Burkina Faso and Niger to the north. A majority of the population live on its small southern coastline on the Bight of Benin. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is in Cotonou, the country’s largest city. Benin covers an area of approximately 110,000 square kilometers (42,000 sq mi), with a population of approximately 9.05 million. Benin is a tropical, sub-Saharan nation, highly dependent on agriculture, with substantial employment and income arising from subsistence farming.

Benin Country Information:
Capital Porto-Novoa
6°28′N 2°36′E
Largest city Cotonou
Official languages French
Vernacular languages


Ethnic groups (2002)
39.2% Fon
15.2% Adja
12.3% Yoruba
9.2% Bariba
7.0% Fula
6.1% Ottamari
4.0% Yoa/Lokpa
2.5% Dendi
1.6% other
2.9% unspecified


Government Multi-party presidential republic
– President Yayi Boni
– Prime Minister Pascal Koupaki
Legislature National Assembly
– from France August 1, 1960
– Total 112,622 km2 (101st)
43,484 sq mi
– Water (%) 0.02%
– 2012 estimate 9,598,787 (89th)
– 2002 census 8,500,500
– Density 78.1/km2 (120th)
202.2/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $14.683 billion
– Per capita $1,481
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $7.306 billion
– Per capita $736
Gini (2003) 36.5 (medium)
HDI (2011) Decrease 0.427 (low) (167th)
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
Calling code 229
ISO 3166 code BJ
Internet TLD .bj